Summer Time Blues..

When you ask people what season they love..a good majority will say summer!  I myself was a huge summer girl, I guess part of me still is.

Summer meant vacations, cookouts, days languishing in the sun by the pool and trips to the beach.  We had a small ice cream shop that we visited frequently that was not open year round, and we would truck ourselves up the road to the Kings Dominion amusement park for roller coaster rides and even firework displays.

I guess as an adult summer loses it’s allure.  You have to get time off work and PAY for all those vacations and days by the beach.  Having a pool is expensive and time consuming.  Trips for ice cream several times a week is not figure flattering…however this is a summer tradition I’ve yet to let go of!

I also think some of the summer is a bust due to living in a large city.  A million people are also at the beach, watching fireworks or standing in line for ice cream.  A small town summer seems so much more fun.

Last night seemed to be puke fest with the kitties!  Both Simon and Lexie had some stomach issues which caused me to wash sheets and blankets at bed time.  Always keeping me on my toes!!

I finished The Girl in the Maze…I’m still not sure how I feel about it.  It’s going to be a toughie to review.  I think basically it was a good book, it just wasn’t my cup of whiskey; as they say.

The story is about a schizophrenic girl who moves to Georgia’s low country after being released from a mental hospital.  She finds herself in the middle of a battle for land between the locals and big money from a development company.  Battling the return of her hallucinations, Martha is unraveling the mysteries of the local culture and navigating through danger – both real and in her mind.

Not sure what’s up next..I need something fun!

Happy Tuesday!

One thought on “Summer Time Blues..

Leave a Reply

